Université de Bordeaux
LabEx LAPHIACluster of Excellence
Cluster of excellence


Thanks to a Laphia grant, I was able to realize a 4 months internship at Laval University in Québec, Canada. This has been very rewarding from a professional point of view due to the working conditions which are not the same as in France. In fact, the equipment of the Centre d’Optique, Photonique et Laser laboratories are high-performance for their domain of expertize. Also from a personal point of view, I met and worked with people from different countries who I sympathized with. This experience made me want to go back to Quebec and do my master 2.

Béatrice Serment

Master student at Bordeaux University (France)

Vincent Wagnie

"In January 2015, I left the cold canadian winter to perform a research internship within the HarMoDyn group, from the CEntre Lasers Intenses et Applications (CELIA) at Université de Bordeaux. I participated to studies of ultrafast molecular dynamics using intense laser sources as work tools. I met passionate and very welcoming researchers with whom I learned in a friendly atmosphere. During my stay, I also discovered Bordeaux, a beautiful city which makes walking and cycling very pleasant, no matter the destination. The music scene is also very active (to my surprise!).

This experience allowed me to get in touch with excellent researchers in the field where I wish to specialize and also to target my career goals, mainly by confirming my choice to do a PhD. It was very rewarding, both professionally and culturally."

Vincent Wagnie

Student at INRS (Canada)

test taonix

A PhD in cotutelle is a unique experience! This allows me to work in two countries with two research groups, each one having different expertise. I have access to lots of scientific domains in chemistry and physics that I wouldn’t be able to explore if I was working in only one laboratory. The COPL at Université Laval in Canada gives me access to the full study of optical fibers from the synthesis to the characterization while the ICMCB and its partners from Université de Bordeaux helps for a better understanding of my material from a structural point of view. Of course both campuses have facilities for work out sessions, activities with the student office, good poutines and cannelés! I absolutely don’t regret being a part of this adventure!

Téa Skopak
PhD studen between  ICMCB-Bordeaux University (Fr) & COPL-Laval University (Ca)


In the framework of the collaborative project PETAPHYS (LAPHIA - IdEX Bordeaux) and PETAL, a 2nd workshop on  "laser-driven Electromagnetic pulses" is organized on March 11, 2016.

[ read more ]
Share on   
Risky project MULTIVOR > "Spin–orbit photonic interaction engineering of Bessel beams" - Optica 2016 08/02 - 30/04Risky project MULTIVOR > "Spin–orbit photonic interaction engineering of Bessel beams" - Optica 2016

Read this article written by Artur ALEKSANYAN et Etienne BRASSELET about "Spin–orbit photonic interaction engineering of Bessel beams" published in OPTICA. 

[ read more ]
Share on   
Découvrez les lauréats du concours photo "Lumière sur..."Découvrez les lauréats du concours photo "Lumière sur..."

2015 a été proclamée l’Année Internationale de la Lumière et des techniques utilisant la lumière.

[ read more ]
Share on

Université de Bordeaux
LabEx LAPHIACluster of Excellence
Cluster of excellence

FOMO 2016 <Matter waves optics>_September 3-17, 2016 03/09 - 17/09FOMO 2016 <Matter waves optics>_September 3-17, 2016

FOMO-2016 will be the fourth event in a series of conferences aimed at providing a focus for the atom-optics community.

[ Lire la suite ]
Partager sur   
ICOPA 4_4-7 Décembre 2016 05/12 - 07/12ICOPA 4_4-7 Décembre 2016

La 4ème édition de la conférence internationale sur l'optique, la photonique et ses applications (ICOPA4) se déroulera du 5 au 7 décembre 2016 à l'ICMCB-CNRS de Pessac.

[ Lire la suite ]
Partager sur   
JMC 15_22-26 août, 2016 22/08 - 26/04JMC 15_22-26 août, 2016

En 2016, la quinzième édition des Journées de la Matière Condensée – JMC15 - réunira la communauté de la physique de la Matière Condensée sur le campus de l’Université de Bordeaux. 

[ Lire la suite ]
Partager sur   
Béatrice Serment

Grâce à une bourse du Laphia j'ai pu effectuer un stage de 4 mois à l’Université Laval à Québec au Canada. Cela a été très enrichissant d'un point de vue professionnel car les conditions de travail ne sont pas les mêmes qu’en France. En effet, les laboratoires du Centre d’Optique, Photonique et Laser sont équipés de matériels très performants dans leur domaine d’expertise. Cela a également été enrichissant d’un point de vue personnel, car j’ai rencontré et travaillé avec des personnes de différentes nationalités avec qui j’ai pu sympathiser. Cette expérience m’a donné envie de retourner à Québec pour effectuer mon stage de master 2.

Béatrice Serment

Etudiante à l'université de Bordeaux (France)

Vincent Wagnie

En janvier 2015, j’ai quitté le froid de l’hiver québécois pour effectuer un stage de recherche au sein du groupe HarMoDyn, se trouvant au CEntre Lasers Intenses et Applications (CELIA) de l’Université de Bordeaux. J’ai participé à l’étude de dynamiques moléculaires ultra-rapides en utilisant des sources lasers intenses comme outils de travail. J’y ai rencontré des chercheurs passionnés et très accueillants avec lesquels j’ai pu apprendre énormément dans une ambiance conviviale. Lors de mon séjour, j’ai aussi pu découvrir Bordeaux, une ville magnifique qui rend la marche et le vélo très agréable, peu importe la destination. La scène musicale y est également très active (à ma grande surprise!).

Cette expérience m’a permis d’entrer en contact avec d’excellents chercheurs dans le domaine où je souhaite me spécialiser ainsi que de mieux cibler mes objectifs de carrière, notamment en confirmant mon choix d’effectuer un doctorat. Elle été des plus enrichissantes, tant sur le plan professionnel que culturel."

Vincent Wagnie
Etudiant au sein de l'INRS (Canada)

Téa Skopak

La cotutelle de thèse est une expérience vraiment unique! Cela me permet de travailler dans deux pays avec deux équipes aux connaissances très variées. J’ai ainsi pu toucher à de nombreux domaines en chimie et en physique que je ne pourrais pas explorer en ne travaillant que dans un seul laboratoire. Les équipements importants du COPL à l’Université Laval au Canada me donnent accès à une étude des fibres optiques allant de la synthèse à la caractérisation, tandis que l’ICMCB et ses partenaires sur l’Université de Bordeaux me permettent de mieux comprendre l’organisation structurale de mon matériau. Bien entendu les deux campus permettent également de se divertir entre les salles de sports, les sorties des bureaux étudiants, les bonnes poutines et les cannelés! Une aventure que je ne regrette absolument pas! "

Téa Skopak
Etudiante en co-tutelle de thèse entre l'ICMCB-université de Bordeaux (Fr) & le COPL-Université Laval (Ca)



HAUT